The Wish App Salsa Dress

In my last post I briefly described this dress I bought on the Wish App.

It’s been photographed in a beautiful setting, on one of my favorite models (Rocky Barnes), and it looks like it has gorgeous movement. Based off these photos I purchased this dress in hopes of having a killer dress for this weekly salsa dancing class I enjoy attending.

When it had arrived, I was a tad disappointed. The fabric was thin, but felt satiny on the outside. That cute red tie at the waist? Not so cute (I ended up tucking it back inside the dress, and adding a chunky, brown leather belt instead). And the buttons: teeny, tiny loops, and odd sized gaps around the waist.

But as Tim Gun would say, I was determined to “Make it work!”

While I ended up not attending salsa, I did receive many compliments on the dress while doing a bit of shopping with my mom before we headed to dinner to celebrate a friend’s birthday (Happy belated birthday, Sue!)

I paired this dress with black, strappy Steve Madden sandals and red, beaded earrings.

I left my hair natural and down, and my makeup routine was a variation of my day-to-day look, inspired by this video of Emily Ratajkowski. I used one of my newest eyeshadow palettes: The Nubian by Juvia’s, which I purchased from Ulta.

IMG_0297

This palette is beautiful, and the colors blend really well. There isn’t much transfer, but the colors appeared a bit lighter on my skin tone than in the palette. That by no means turned me away from this palette, LOL!

After prepping my face with moisturizer and primer, I tried a new technique – doing your eyes first. In every video I’ve watched where someone does this, they say it allows easier clean up under the eye (i.e., removing fallout) without disturbing the rest of the face.

I used color ‘1’ as my base, applying in a windshield wiping/sweeping motion from lash line to underneath my eyebrow. Color ‘2’ was my lid color, applied in the same fashion, with the same blending brush. (I keep a paper towel near by to wipe off the brush in between colors). Color ‘3’ was used to add depth, by applying in the crease and along the outer third of the lash line. Color ‘4’ was used to highlight my tear duct, using a flat and tapered detailing brush.

IMG_9930

I used my favorite black, felt-tip eyeliner, and the Two Faced Better Than Sex Waterproof mascara. I lined my lips with the Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-On Lip Pencil in color ‘Uptight’, and topped it with the Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick in color ‘Chai’.

IMG_2037
At Cava Restaurant Southington, CT

It was a great Friday evening, and a surprisingly wonderful dress! Unfortunately, due to the lightness of the fabric, it will now need to be boxed up until the return of spring.

What do you think of this dress? I’m going to give it the #WATS seal of approval! I’m seriously looking forward to my next chance to wear this.

Have a wonderful rest of your day or night, my dears, and remember to SLAY!

Leave a comment

I’m Taylor

Welcome to We Aim To Slay, a fashion and lifestyle blog dedicated to reinforcing the idea that true beauty comes from having the confidence to be authentically yourself!

Let’s connect